Absolutely Free Announce Debut Album, Share Free MP3

August 8, 2014 in Music, Toronto by Andrew_Horan

Image courtesy of Arts & Crafts

Toronto’s Absolutely Free have announced that they will release their self-titled debut on Arts & Crafts on October 14. To celebrate, they’ve shared a free stream of the first single ‘Beneath the Air';

The eight track effort finds the band honing and expanding their sound, incorporating new analog electronics, African polyrhythms, psychedelia, and hints of Bollywood and Krautrock.

The band was formed from the ashes of acclaimed T.O. band DD/MM/YYYY after the band called it a day after eight years. Matt King (drums/vocals), Moshe Rozenberg (synths/drums), and Mike Claxton (synths/bass) wanted to create music that was more patient and hypnotic than the frenetic noise rock of their previous band. The album comes on the heels of two 12″ singles 2012’s UFO/Glass Tassle and 2013’s On The Beach/Clothed Woman, Sitting.

Absolutely Free has shared the stage with Beak>, Youth Lagoon, and Dan Deacon and more.

The band recorded the album with producer Mike Haliechuk (Fucked Up, Austra), which finds them focussing their diverse influences into a unified whole.

1. Window of Time

2. Beneath The Air

3. Striped Light

4. Burred Lens

5. Earth II

6. My Dim Age

7. Vision’s

8. Spiral Jetty