Arts & Crafts Collaboration Collection X Out Today

May 29, 2013 in Music, Ontario, Toronto by Justin Beach

The first decade of the 21st century was a great time for indie music fans in Toronto. Pre-gentrified neighborhoods like Queen West, Trinity-Bellwoods, Parkdale and Ossington seemed, at times, to be inhabited solely by musicians and artists. Those years gave us Broken Social Scene, Feist, the Hidden Cameras, Apostle of Hustle, Owen Pallett/Final Fantasy, Elliott Brood, Holy Fuck and many, many others. During that time the label that stood out and represented most of those artists was Arts & Crafts.

Now, as part of their 10th Anniversary celebration Arts & Crafts has released X, a “a collection of original collaborative recordings by artist pairings from the A&C roster”.
It includes:

1) Broken Social Scene x Years – Day Of The Kid
2) Apostle Of Hustle x Zeus – Bizarre Love 3) Triangle
3) Feist x Timber Timbre – Homage
4) Still Life Still x Zulu Winter – Era
5) The Hidden Cameras x Snowblink – The Chauffeur (Duran Duran)
6) The Darcys x Ra Ra Riot – Time Can Be Overcome (The Constantines)
7) Chilly Gonzales x Stars – Nothing Good Comes To Those Who Wait
8) Hayden x Jason Collett – Lonely Is As Lonely Does
9) Gold & Youth x Trust – Lady Bird
10) Amy Millan x Dan Mangan – Chances Are

It is a new decade now. All of those neighborhoods have, largely, gentrified. Many of the artists have moved on and the music scene seems to be drifting heavily toward various forms of electronica, world music, R&B and hip hop but it is still a time worth remembering and X features an amazing line up of artists and some incredible songs. Pick up a copy … wherever you do things like that!